The Scientific Committee

The purpose of the Scientific Committee is to provide Efficacity with a scientific opinion on the conduct of R&D projects under way and to make recommendations on avenues for medium- and long-term research. The Committee also ensures that projects are scientifically consistent with public and private sector research strategies in France and at the international level, and monitors capitalisation of the results of the various projects to enhance Efficacity’s systemic vision.

The Scientific Committee is made up of two complementary bodies:
– an Advisory Board made up of eminent and internationally recognised experts in the fields of energy, the city, the economy, etc.
– a Scientific Coordination Committee made up of scientific or R&D representatives of Efficacity’s founding members.

Advisory board

Alain Chiaradia is a global expert on urban morphology and design. An architect by training (ENSA-Marseille and Architectural Association), he is currently an Associate Professor and Director of the Master of Urban Design programme at the University of Hong Kong. He is currently leading the conceptual development of the award-winning spatial network analysis software (sDNA) used in R&D on sustainable cities. Prior to this, Alain was Board Director at global consultancy Space Syntax Ltd., heading large-scale projects involving analysis of spatial policy, formulation of urban design policy and evidence-based spatial design in major cities including Paris, London, Boston and Shanghai. He has developed and led innovative projects in the field of operational research and was also an Honorary Senior Research Fellow of University College London (2000-09).
Jacques Teller has spent his entire career at ULg. Graduating with a degree in civil engineering in 1992, he joined LEMA (Local Environment Management and Analysis) the following year, after a short spell at urban planning research centre CRAU (Centre de Recherche en Aménagement et Urbanisme). In 2000, he was appointed head of research at LEMA, in addition to his role as assistant to Professor Albert Dupagne. In 2007, he became a junior lecturer in town and country planning at ULg. A researcher at the FNRS as well as a foreign researcher associated with the CNRS, Jacques Teller also coordinated numerous projects, both in Belgium, with the ‘Atlas des Paysages de Wallonie’, and in the rest of Europe, with Picture. He is currently a member of the management committee of LEPUR (Laboratoire d’Etudes en Planification Urbaine et Rurale) and took over as its Chairman with effect from October 2008. LEPUR is in charge of managing the University of Liège component of research and training missions for the Conférence Permanente du Développement Territorial (CPDT).
François Maréchal, PROFESSOR AT EPFL
François Maréchal holds a chemical engineering degree (1986) and a PhD in Applied Science from the University of Liège in Belgium (1995). In 2001, he moved to the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) in Switzerland, where he worked as a senior scientist in the industrial energy laboratory headed by Professor Favrat. In 2013, he was appointed Adjunct Professor at EPFL, where he now heads a research group in the field of process and energy systems engineering. His research focuses on the development of engineering methods for the analysis and design of processes and energy systems incorporating renewable energy resources. His activities involve using simulation and optimisation methods as decision aids in the systems engineering approach, with applications in the efficient use of energy and resources in industrial processes, designing biorefining for the conversion of biomass and for CO2 capture and re-use, and the design of large-scale energy systems such as industrial symbiosis and urban systems.
Pierre Veltz, a graduate of the École Polytechnique and a qualified Corps des Ponts engineer, began his career in the departmental infrastructure agency of the Nord department, then with SCET (Société Centrale pour l'Equipement du Territoire, now a subsidiary of Caisse des Dépôts), where he carried out research in the field of urban planning. In 1984, he founded and headed LATTS (Laboratoire Techniques, Territoires et Société), a multidisciplinary laboratory for the social sciences. As Dean of Research and then Director of the École Nationale des Ponts et Chaussées, from 1999 to 2003, he also chaired ParisTech, a scientific cooperation body comprising eleven of the foremost engineering schools in Paris. After serving as Director of the Institut des Hautes Etudes de Développement et d’Aménagement des Territoires en Europe (IHEDATE) from 2004 to 2008, in May 2009 he was appointed ministerial delegate for the development of the Saclay cluster. In 2010, he was appointed Chairman and CEO of the Paris-Saclay public establishment. He also served as a member of the Board of Directors of the École Normale Supérieure from 2007 to 2011. A member of the Académie des Technologies, Pierre Veltz was awarded the Grand Prix de l’Urbanisme in 2017.
Dominique Bureau is delegate general of the Conseil Economique pour le Développement Durable (economic council for sustainable development) at the French Ministry for Ecological and Inclusive Transition, and chairman of the Green Economy Committee. Prior to this, he served as director of economic and international affairs at the Ministry of Works, after setting up the economic study and environmental evaluation department at the Ministry for the Environment and contributing to the creation of the economic analysis council, Conseil d'Analyse Economique. He began his career at the Finance Ministry, in the forecasting and budget department. He was involved in the production of a number of administrative reports, including the Boiteux report on investment choices for transport, the Champsaur report on opening the telecommunications and electricity sectors to competition, and the Bourguignon report on tax reform. He has served as a member of the Board of Directors of Aéroports de Paris and of the college of rail regulator ARAF. Author of scientific articles on applied public economics, he is a member of the Scientific Committees of thinktank La Fabrique de la Cité and of Société du Grand Paris.
Alain Bourdin, Président du Conseil scientifique de la plateforme d’observation des projets de stratégie urbaine du PUCA
Hervé Charrue, a graduate of ENS Cachan, is Deputy Chief Executive Officer of the Centre Scientifique et Technique du Bâtiment (CTSB). In 1989, he joined Saint-Gobain Research in Aubervilliers, first as head of the Glass Thermomechanics group, and then as head of the Glass Mechanics and Thermomechanics Department. In 1994, he held a number of posts: production manager, plant manager, and division manager. He also became a member of a number of Saint-Gobain management committees. Hervé Charrue has presided over Efficacity's Scientific Committee since the institute was founded.

Scientific Coordination Committee

Hervé Charrue, President, Research Director and Deputy CEO, CSTB
Olivier Dekens, EDF R&D
Delphine Brasseur, Veolia R&I
Cristian Muresan, ENGIE - CRIGEN
Christian de Sainte-Marie, IBM
Cécile Delolme, VP I-SITE FUTURE
Jean-François Blassel, Chairman, EAVT
Eric Croquesel, Research Director, ESTP
Youssef Diaf, Scientific Director, EIVP
Damien Lamberton, VP Research, UPEM
Dominique Marchio, Energy modelling expert, Mines ParisTech
Hubert Perrier, CEREMA – head of the Institut Carnot
Serge Piperno, Scientific Director, IFSTTAR
Françoise Préteux, Research Director, ENPC (and Michel de Lara – optimisation expert)
Hugues Talbot, Research Director, ESIEE (and Corine Berland, sensors expert)
Patrice Aknin, Research Director, IRT SystemX